I’ve been off on a journey

5 04 2009

A strange one at that. My entire world is changing before my eyes. First, it started on the inside, but as it is on the inside so it becomes on the outside.

I discovered a new diet program. I’ve not lost any weight on it, but right now my body seems to have other plans. That’s ok. I trust my body. I’ve not gained a pound and I keep gaining muscle.

The new diet program is the not a diet at all, it is called the Gabriel Method. If your body wants you to be fat, guess what, you’re gonna be fat.

I’ve rediscovered a very good song that I’ve always liked:

Ship of Fools by Robert Plant

On waves of love my heart is breaking
And stranger still my self control I can’t rely on anymore
New tides surprise – my world it’s changing
Within this frame an ocean swells – behind this smile I know it well

Beneath a lover’s moon I’m waiting
I am the pilot of the storm – adrift in pleasure I may drown
I built this ship – it is my making
And furthermore my self control I can’t rely on anymore
I know why – I know why
Crazy on a ship of fools
Crazy on a ship of fools
Turn this boat around – back to my loving ground

Who claims that no man is an island
While I land up in jeopardy – more distant from you by degrees
I walk this shore in isolation
And at my feet eternity draws ever sweeter plans for me
I know why – I know why
Crazy on a ship of fools
Crazy on a ship of fools
Turn this boat around – back to my loving ground
Oh no, oh no – ship of fools —

I love those first two lines, “On waves of love my heart is breaking, and stranger still my self control I can’t rely on anymore”. This is track number 1 on the soundtrack of my life, right now. I know why…

I’ve been getting up at 5:00 or 5:30 AM each day and meditating for a bit. I’ve also been doing a simple yoga set of exercises that I picked up from Anmol Mehta for spinal warm-ups that I use before I meditate and lift weights. I think it has had other benefits besides a looser back, but that is a tale for another day. My friend Swati shared this site with me (amongst many other wonderful things, I am deeply indebted to her for the grace and dignity within which she related to me).

The relationships in my life are improving and intensifying, I’m feeling calmer and more centered each day. I’ve met some interesting new people and I’ll be meeting more very soon (maybe you’ll be one of them?).

If you look around at a life that you don’t like, the first thing to realize is that it is the life of your choosing. Look at what you have chosen for yourself, my friend. This will hurt for some (most?) people, but knowing that this is a life of your choosing allows you to make different choices. Wake up. Make the choice. Do the thing you are most scared to do. Look that demon in the face. Your life will change at a rapid pace.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment